Commemoration of the Battles of Third Ypres, Sydney

The Families and Friends of the First AIF
invite you to attend or view
the Commemoration of the Battles of Third Ypres

Wednesday 26 September 2018, 10.45 am for 11:00 am to 12.00 noon

at the Anzac Memorial, Hyde Park, Sydney.

tyncot_5_sml2Menin Gate

The road to Passchendaele                                     The Gate on Menin Road

The Commemoration honours the 43 Divisions of British and Dominion troops involved in all of the Battles of Third Ypres. I ANZAC Corps, consisting of the 1st, 2nd, 4th and 5th Australian Divisions and II ANZAC Corps consisting of the 3rd Australian Division, the New Zealand Division with 2 British Divisions on rotation, fought alongside each other for the first time. The battles lasted for 102 days with more than 300,000 casualties. Australian Divisions participated in the following battles:

Menin Road, 20-25 September
Polygon Wood, 26 September to 3 October
Broodseinde Ridge, 4 October
Poelcapelle, 9 October
Passchendaele (First Battle), 12 October

cross-of-sacrifice-hooge-crater-cemetery_sml Tyne Cot Cemetery

Hooge Crater Cemetery                                              Tyne Cot Cemetery

To be streamed live and available for later viewing on The Anzac Memorial Facebook page. 

RSVP by 15 September to

ANZ_YPRES_2017_254 Lament - Piper Jim Braid with Bugler Ross GriffithsANZ_YPRES_2017_393 Australian Army Band Sydney playing New Zealand National Anthem led by Jeff Camilleri ANZ_YPRES_2017_267c Wreath laying - Capt Stephen Bowater, Lt Col Paul Simadas, Wing Cmdr David MasonANZ_YPRES_2017_413 Greg and Debbie Rogers and great neice


This entry was posted in Commemorations, Ieper/Ypres, Members' Announcements, Passchendale, Poelcappelle, Polygon Wood, Zonnebeke. Bookmark the permalink.