Commemoration of the Battles of 3rd Ypres in 2021

43 Divisions of British and Dominion troops were involved in the Battles of Third Ypres.

I ANZAC Corps, consisting of the 1st, 2nd, 4th and 5th Australian Divisions, and II ANZAC Corps consisting of the 3rd Australian Division, the New Zealand Division with 2 British Divisions on rotation, fought alongside each other for the first time.
The battles lasted for 102 days with more than 300,000 casualties.

Australian Divisions participated in the following battles:

  • Menin Road, 20-25 September 1917
  • Polygon Wood, 26 September to 3 October
  • Broodseinde Ridge, 4 October
  • Poelcapelle, 9 October
  • Passchendaele (First Battle), 12 October 1917


Sydney has been subject to COVID19 restrictions and a lock-down was imposed for Greater Sydney in July that has subsequently been extended until the end of September. This meant that the Anzac Memorial has been closed to the public and commemorations cancelled.

Fortunately, staff at the Anzac Memorial were able to lay a FFFAIF-supplied wreath in the French and Belgium Niche of the Hall of Memory and the Office of Veterans Affairs Communications team posted the event on social media.

FFFAIF on behalf of all relatives and friends of the Australian soldiers involved in the Battles of 3rd Ypres would like to express our appreciation to the staff and volunteers of the Anzac Memorial and the Office of Veterans Affairs for helping to commemorate the anniversary.

[Click on the following images to see more detail]


This entry was posted in Commemorations, Ieper/Ypres. Bookmark the permalink.