Bapaume Honour Roll

A Roll of Honour Plaque will be dedicated on 26 March 2011 in Bapaume to the men of the AIF who were killed on March 25/26 1917 in an explosion in Bapaume Town Hall.

Photo: Privates Charles Neild and Alexander Gunn [AWM E00051]

Organisers are looking for the families of the Diggers including the descendants of Light Horse Troopers Frederick Adams, George Alexander, Phillip Taylor and Joseph Colmo;  men of 20th Infantry Battalion: Lance Corporals Herbert Akhurst, John McCall and Jules Schuller; Corporal Andrew Caldwell; Privates Albert Beattie, William Greenland, Rufus Lansdown and Ralph Smith; 5th Battalion Private Albert Scott; 6th Battalion Private Alexander Gunn; 7th Battalion Private William Lewis; 8th Battalion Private Charles Neild; 16th Battalion Private Alexander McKay; 23rd Battalion Privates Arthur May and William Sturrock.

Contact Lisa or call Linda Downey 0411 462 287


Read more about the bombing of the Bapaume Mairie at:
Australian War Memorial Bapaume to Bullecourt
Australian on the Western Front Bapaume Mairie-An uncanny feeling of an evil spirit

This entry was posted in Commemorations, Diggers of First AIF, The Western Front, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.